Hey there. Kara here. It's a typical Monday morning, it's almost 8:00 and it's still dark outside not to mention freezing. Literally. I'm in my first class of the day: Basic Drafting. So today the topic is public schooling. Our generation is known for how "lazy we are" or "how we don't try to understand what's going on in class". Excuse me? Say that to my face. I know it's sounds like an excuse, but over half the time it's not us! It's the teachers that we are provided. For example, the teacher I have at this very moment is the WORST teacher I have ever had. That's seriously saying something because I've had several teachers that are terrible, but this one beats all. She is very well educated on the subject, but is NOT meant to teach. As high school students, we need teachers that like teaching or can at least teach it in a way we can understand. She will tell us to pull up A+ CAD, the program we use. It's a rare moment that she gives us time to pull it up, and whether it's up or not she begins to SPEED through the lesson faster than a child opening a present on Christmas. She runs through everything once, then ignores us the rest of the period because she "has a business she needs to run". From the experience I've had, if you ask a question about something she supposedly taught she gets very defensive and tells us that we need to pay better attention or else we'll have to suffer from our bad grades. In fact, last week we got back from Christmas break and she proceeded to lecture us (almost to the point of yelling) about how irresponsible we were and how she was irritated with how we wasted her time by making her grade our assignments when we did so poorly. I'm sorry do you want to repeat that? Without blaming us for your horrible teaching abilities. We spend 90% of class time trying to figure out what she had plenty of time to teach us in detail, while she sits at her desk playing with her computer and taking calls from clients (giggling and flirting with them while she's at it). This is only one example of teachers who don't do a good job teaching us.
I've had a math teacher for two years now. He is like my drafting teacher, where he is a teacher but has another job on the side which seems to distract him more than necessary. Being an emergency mountain rescuer and hardly ever being called in doesn't mean he should have to obsess over it like he does. The basic rundown of his lessons goes as follows: Monotone voice begins the lesson. Slow. Boring. Confusing. He messes up on nearly every single problem and we have to correct him. Then suddenly (and still monotone) he'll stop mid-sentence, "Want to hear a rescue story?" Of course there are the students who hate math and would like to avoid it like the plague get excited and nearly shout, "YES!" while the rest of us that want to pass the class try not to groan and complain. I transferred out of his class and took my class down at UVU instead.
I have several other teachers that I could point out, but by now I'm hoping you understand my side of the argument. I just wish the older generations would stop accusing our generation of laziness or calling us stupid when it's THEIR generations that are causing us to struggle in class. And it's not just me; there are plenty of others who feel the same way.
So please, give us some slack and learn to teach.
Love, me
Quick snack of the day: Parmesan Tomato Crackers
Category: Way healthy...for teens and adults only. Children will probably gag and never eat a cracker again.
A few cherry tomatoes
Parmesan cheese
Whole wheat crackers
Take the tomato(es) and slice them thinly. Place a slice onto a cracker and sprinkle (or place) Parmesan on top (depending on what kind of cheese you have). Enjoy. If you like it in the first place.
Opinion of the day: Candy
Sour Patch Kids. The wonderfully sour and sweet candy that causes you to make faces that are later placed into a photo book and makes you cry you're laughing so hard. Great way to get black mail worthy pictures of your friends.
No comments:
Post a Comment